Skip to content
Guide

How to create a KNET payment link for your business

To create a KNET payment link, open a merchant account with a Kuwaiti bank or a CBK-registered payment provider, then create an invoice with the amount and customer from its dashboard or app and send the link by WhatsApp, SMS or email. You may not add a fee for paying by KNET.

Last verified Written by the Rukn engineering team

Key takeaways

  • KNET links come from a merchant account with a Kuwaiti bank or a CBK-registered provider, not from KNET directly to a business without an account.
  • As of 26 October 2026, CBK registers list Tap, UPayments, Hesabe and MyFatoorah in the large class.
  • Each provider documents its own flow: Tap goCollect bills, UPayments quick invoices, MyFatoorah SendPayment.
  • A CBK circular of 30 September 2025 bars charging customers in Kuwait any extra fee for paying electronically.
  • Waslo sends the payment link from the business’s own gateway account inside the chat; money never passes through Rukn.

Want payment links sent automatically from WhatsApp or your store?Get a payment link plan

A KNET payment link is a web address you send to a customer. They open it, choose KNET, pay on the KNET page with their Kuwaiti debit card, and the money settles to your business account. You do not need a website or a checkout to use one. This guide explains who can issue these links, what you need before you start, and how each provider documents the steps. Everything below was checked against the sources on 15 October 2026.

This is a technical guide from a software team, not legal or financial advice.

What a KNET payment link is

Providers call it different things: an invoice link, a quick invoice, a bill, or a payment link. The idea is the same. You enter an amount and a customer, the system creates a payment page with its own URL, and you share that URL by SMS, WhatsApp, email or any chat. When the customer pays, the dashboard marks the invoice as paid.

Links suit businesses that sell through conversations: orders on WhatsApp or Instagram, deposits for bookings, custom orders, or a balance due after delivery. They also suit businesses that already have a store but need to collect one-off amounts outside it.

Who can issue a KNET payment link

KNET runs the network that Kuwaiti debit cards use. A business does not get a payment link from KNET on its own; it gets one through a payment account, either with a Kuwaiti bank or with a payment company registered with the Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK).

As of 26 October 2026, the CBK's e-payment service providers register lists Tap Payments, UPayments and Hesabe as large e-payment service providers, and the e-money service providers register lists MyFatoorah as a large e-money service provider. Banks offer links too: Kuwait Finance House, for example, describes Zaheb, a service for collecting payments by sharing links.

If someone offers to "create a KNET link for you" from their own account, the money lands in their account, not yours. Use a link from your own merchant account. Our comparison of payment gateways in Kuwait walks through the full CBK list.

What your business needs first

Before the first link, you need an approved account. In practice that means:

  • A registered business. Expect the provider to ask for your commercial licence and company documents as part of its verification.
  • A business bank account. Settlement goes to an account in the business's name. KFH, for example, lists opening a corporate account and registering on its eCorp platform as the requirements for Zaheb.
  • An approved merchant account with a bank or a CBK-registered provider, with KNET enabled on it.
  • A way to confirm payment. Staff need access to the dashboard, or your system needs to read payment status, before goods leave the shop.

Each provider sets its own document list. Ask for it in writing before you apply.

How to create a KNET payment link, step by step

Menus differ by provider, but the documented flows share the same shape:

  1. Log in to your bank's or provider's merchant dashboard or app.
  2. Start a new invoice, bill, or payment link.
  3. Enter the amount in Kuwaiti dinars, the customer's name, and what the payment is for.
  4. Add the customer's mobile number or email if you want the provider to send the link for you.
  5. Create the link, then send it, or copy it and paste it into your chat.
  6. The customer opens the link, chooses KNET, and pays on the KNET page.
  7. Check that the dashboard shows the payment as paid before you deliver.

Confirm with your provider that KNET is enabled for links on your account. UPayments' help article, for example, says the customer can pay using the payment methods you have enabled.

What each provider documents

Each row below reflects only what that provider's own page says, as of 15 October 2026. "Not stated" means the page did not cover it, not that the feature is missing.

ProviderWhere the link is createdHow it is sentExpiry or limits
MyFatoorahSendPayment API creates an invoice linkEmail, SMS, or link returned to youOptional expiry date; default comes from your portal profile
Tap PaymentsDashboard, goCollect: "Send a bill" or "Send bills" (bulk); invoicing APIEmail, SMS, WhatsApp, or copied URLNot stated
UPaymentsDashboard, Invoices, quick invoiceWhatsApp or email if you enter the contact; copied linkNot stated
HesabeHesabe app for registered businessesSMS or WhatsApp, one or many customersNot stated
KFH Zaheb (bank)eCorpEmail, SMS, social mediaValid 24 hours; KD 50,000 daily limit

MyFatoorah. Its SendPayment documentation says the endpoint creates a MyFatoorah invoice. It needs three fields: the invoice value, the customer name, and a notification option. That option is email only, SMS only, link only (the link comes back in the response for you to share), or all. Our MyFatoorah integration guide covers the rest of the setup.

Tap Payments. Tap's developer docs describe invoices created from the dashboard under goCollect, with "Send a bill" for one invoice and "Send bills" for bulk. Invoices go out by email, SMS or WhatsApp, or you share the URL anywhere else. The customer sees the invoice details and a "Pay Now" button. See our Tap Payments integration guide.

UPayments. Its help centre article describes a quick invoice: open Invoices, choose quick invoice, enter currency, amount, customer name and purpose of payment, then create it. Add a mobile number and the customer receives a WhatsApp message with the payment request; add an email and they receive it by email. You can also copy the link.

Hesabe. Its App Store listing says registered businesses can generate invoices and send them by SMS or WhatsApp to one or many customers, and track payments in real time.

Banks. KFH's Zaheb page lists links valid for 24 hours, a daily limit of KD 50,000, and payment from outside Kuwait with locally issued cards only. Other banks have their own terms; ask your relationship manager.

Sending the link on WhatsApp, SMS or email

A few habits keep link payments clean:

  • Say what the link is for in the same message: order number, amount, and the business name.
  • Send from a known number. A link from your business's WhatsApp account is easier to trust than one from a staff member's personal number.
  • One link per order. Reusing old links makes reconciliation hard.
  • Confirm in the dashboard, not by screenshot. A screenshot of a receipt is not proof of payment; the dashboard status is.

Creating links automatically through an API

If you send more than a handful of links a day, typing each one into a dashboard gets slow and error-prone. Providers expose the same function through an API, so your store, booking system, or ERP can create the link when an order is placed.

MyFatoorah's SendPayment call, for example, can return the link only, so your system decides where to send it. It also accepts an optional expiry date; if you leave it out, the default comes from your account profile in the portal. Tap says its invoicing API generates an invoice link aimed at automation and ERP sync.

A sound setup creates the link from the order, stores the invoice ID against it, and marks the order paid only after your server confirms the status with the provider. Our KNET integration guide covers that confirmation step in detail.

Payment links inside Waslo conversations

Waslo is Rukn's own messaging platform. It connects a web chat widget, WhatsApp, Instagram, Telegram, LINE, SMS, email and Twilio, plus custom channels through its API. When a customer confirms an order in the chat, Waslo can send a payment link from the business's own licensed gateway account. The customer pays on the gateway's page, and the money settles to the business. It never passes through Rukn.

As a hypothetical example, a bakery taking cake orders on WhatsApp could have each confirmed order trigger a KNET link in the same chat, then post a confirmation once the gateway reports the payment. The messaging setup is explained in our WhatsApp Business API guide.

Do not add a fee for paying by KNET

Some sellers add a line such as "KNET fee" to the link amount. Do not. CBK Circular No. 2/RB, RBA, RK/600/2025 (Arabic), dated 30 September 2025, tells all local banks, e-payment service providers and e-money service providers to put a clause in their merchant agreements that bars charging the end customer in Kuwait any fee or extra amount for using electronic payment, whatever the method. It followed complaints about extra charges on debit and credit card payments through gateways and POS devices. Providers must act against merchants who breach the clause, including suspending the service if needed.

Price your products so the amount on the link is the full amount the customer pays.

Security: spotting a fake payment link

Fraudsters copy the look of payment pages. Teach your staff, and remind your customers:

  • Check the domain before paying. It should belong to your bank or payment provider, not a lookalike.
  • Check the amount and business name on the payment page match the order.
  • Respect expiry. If a link has expired, issue a new one from the dashboard rather than reusing an old one.
  • Never ask for card details in chat. The customer enters them only on the payment page.
  • Keep dashboard logins personal and remove access when staff leave.

How Rukn can help

Rukn is a Kuwait-based software team. We connect payment links to the systems you already use: your store, a booking system, an ERP, or Waslo conversations, using your own gateway account. Link payments often sit next to a website checkout, which is part of our website development service. Websites start from KD 799, and the final quote depends on scope. If you want links created and sent without manual work, tell us how you take orders today and we will map the flow.

Frequently asked questions

How do I create a KNET payment link?

Open a merchant account with a Kuwaiti bank or a payment provider registered with the Central Bank of Kuwait, and make sure KNET is enabled on it. Once approved, log in to the dashboard or app, create an invoice or payment link with the amount, customer name and purpose, then send it or copy it into your chat. Check the dashboard shows it paid before you deliver.

Is there a KNET app for creating payment links?

Links are created in the dashboard or app of the bank or provider you contract with. For example, Hesabe’s App Store listing says registered businesses can generate invoices and send them by SMS or WhatsApp from its app, and KFH offers its Zaheb link service through its eCorp platform.

Do I need a commercial licence to create a KNET payment link?

You need an approved merchant account, and providers verify the business before approving it, so expect to be asked for your commercial licence, company documents and a bank account in the business’s name. KFH, for example, requires a corporate account and eCorp registration for Zaheb. Ask the provider for its document list in writing.

Can I add a KNET fee to the payment link?

No. CBK Circular No. 2/RB, RBA, RK/600/2025, dated 30 September 2025, requires banks and payment providers to bind their merchants not to charge the end customer in Kuwait any fee or extra amount for paying electronically, whatever the method, and to act against merchants who do, up to suspending the service.

How long does a KNET payment link stay valid?

It depends on the provider. KFH’s Zaheb page lists 24 hours. MyFatoorah’s SendPayment docs make the expiry date optional; if you leave it out, the default from your portal account profile applies. Ask your provider what your account is set to.

Can payment links be sent automatically from WhatsApp?

Yes, through an API connection to your payment provider. Rukn’s Waslo platform sends the link from the business’s own gateway account inside the WhatsApp chat when an order is confirmed, and the money settles to the business directly, never through Rukn.

Sources

We checked the facts on this page against these sources on 15 October 2026.

  1. Central Bank of Kuwait: e-Payment Services Providers (EPSP) register
  2. Central Bank of Kuwait: e-Money Services Providers (EMSP) register
  3. Central Bank of Kuwait: circulars on regulating e-payment activities (Arabic PDF), including Circular No. 2/RB, RBA, RK/600/2025 of 30 September 2025 banning fees charged to the end customer
  4. MyFatoorah docs: SendPayment (notification options, required fields, ExpiryDate)
  5. Tap Payments developer docs: invoices from the dashboard (goCollect) and invoicing API
  6. UPayments help centre: create a quick payment link
  7. Hesabe: App Store listing for the Hesabe merchant app
  8. Kuwait Finance House: Zaheb payment links (validity, daily limit, requirements)

Rukn is an independent software company. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by or a partner of KNET, Central Bank of Kuwait, MyFatoorah, Tap Payments, UPayments, Hesabe, and Kuwait Finance House, and we receive no referral fees. Names and trademarks belong to their owners and are used only to describe compatibility.

Want payment links sent automatically from WhatsApp or your store?

We connect your own gateway account to your store or to Waslo conversations so a link is created and sent with every order. You get a plan, timeline and quote within 24 hours, free and with no obligation.